Meeting Minutes

9/27/2012 - Special Called Meeting

Minutes – Special Called Meeting


September 27, 2012


The Tallapoosa County Commission held a special called meeting September 27, 2012 at the courthouse in Dadeville, Alabama at 9:00 a.m.


Chairman Tapley called the meeting to order.


Commissioner Shaw gave the invocation.


Chairman Tapley led the Pledge of Allegiance.


Chairman Tapley called roll. All Commissioners were present.



Public Comments from Citizens



Public Comments from Officials


Joe Windle, Superintendent of the Tallapoosa County Board of Education, addressed the Commission requesting that an additional $10,000 of funding be provided for the construction of a new Central Office; bringing the annual total to $40,000.


Consent Agenda


Commissioner Thweatt made a motion to approve a resolution amending the Buttston waterline extension project using a CDBG grant. Commissioner Coley seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. See attachment.


Commissioner Shaw made a motion to pass the FY2013 budget presented by County Administrator Blake Beck. Commissioner Coley seconded the motion. After discussion, Commissioner Thweatt proposed an amendment adding the $10,000 requested by the Tallapoosa County Board of Education (total appropriation raised to $40,000). Commissioner Coley requested that she include an additional $5,000 for the Lake Martin Economic Development Authority (total appropriation raised to $50,000). Both amounts will be paid from projected General Fund Fund Balance. The proposed amendment was seconded by Commissioner Shaw. The motion to amend passed unanimously. The FY2013 budget was then passed unanimously as amended.



Executive Session


Old Business


New Business


Discussion Items





Commissioner Shaw made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Coley seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.



___________________________     __________________________

Thomas L. Coley, Jr.            Emma Jean Thweatt

Commissioner, District 1        Commissioner, District 4




___________________________     __________________________

Charles Shaw                    Dwaine Holt

Commissioner, District 2        Commissioner, District 5




Frank Tapley

Commissioner, District 3


<-- Go Back

© Copyright Tallapoosa County    All Rights Reserved